View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:45 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo? 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:43 am
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle, WA
Post I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo?
Ok, I've been thru the tutorials and have everything set up.
I've sent the main demo and audio demo to the avr and it WORKS !!!
And dumped the default propeller driver to make sure I could do it.

Sooooooo, I'm new to the propeller and don't know the avr TOO well yet.

Is there any chance ya know if it'd be POSSIBLE to use the ntsc jack
as a 2nd audio jack? To get stereo?

I'd probably start with tossin out the ntsc cog that I don't need since
i got vga, and dup the existing audio cog.

But i dunno how "possible" it is to reuse that 2nd hardware jack (female line level stereo jack)
so's i can git me some stereo...
Nor if the propeller can "take it" cpu wise.

I've got a pretty good handle on fluidsynth and miiiight be able to use a
subset of it to do a REALLY limited soundfont synth on this chameleon.

Just started in on FRC robotics:) - awesome stuff to be learned there.
That National Instruments CompactRIO thing is weeeeeird.

I get layed off Jan 31 (Yay!!) so i'll be able to work on my pet project:
http://pianocheater.com in the morning,
then robotics in the evening.
I'm hoping to use the chameleon and an ipod speaker system to give our
robot sound - send it a byte for "which dang sound" and it plays it.

If I can get that done in time. But probably it'll be a next year deal.

anyways, good job on this chameleon!
keyboard, vga, and audio on a TEENY CHEAP little board.
Very cool indeed.

...Steve

_________________
Working on my own midi sequencer
Yeah, I'm crazy like that
http://pianocheater.com


Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:54 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 291
Post Re: I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo?
yes, you can use the video jack as an audio jack, but you will have to solder a capacitor on the board, if you are willing to do that, I can show you how. But, basically, you need something to "integrate" the PWM signal similarly to the standard audio jack. In fact, look at the schematic of the audio jack, very simple, now look at the schematic of the video jack, similar, but with 4 resistors kind of things. Now, imagine, how can you convert the video jack into the audio jack?

of course, I think a MUCH better way would just be to solder an audio cable or connector onto the proto area and then run an IO signal to it, thru a resistor, 2 caps, ground, and then you have another audio port and don't damage the video connector.

that's what the proto area is for to add things to the board.

Andre'


Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:13 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:43 am
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle, WA
Post Re: I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo?
Hmmm, I'm no expert with a soldering iron...
I can solder ALMOST ok, but I'm more of a "poke it into a breadboard" kinda guy :/

The "add a capacitor and reuse the jack" route - you're talkin about a
surface mount capacitor? That sounds kinda scary.

Well, I think I'll wimp out and just play with mono for the time being.
And eventually just take a (digital out, right?) and route to the little
2 caps and a resister setup thingy in your docs.

Maybe after this robotics build season I'll be a little more adventuresome.
We've already soldered a 6 wire RJ11 cable to a db9 serial port plug.
And made a "CANbus" terminator. (resister between 2 RJ11 lines).
To re-image some "Jaguar" motor controllers.

I think this robotics stuff will kind of force me back into electronics.
That should be good.

Anyways, if you could maybe go a little farther in your
"reuse the ntsc jack" route, that'd be appreciated.
I don't think I'll ever need an ntsc when all the new monitors will
usually take rgb. and I can plug both my pc and cham into my
current monitor.

_________________
Working on my own midi sequencer
Yeah, I'm crazy like that
http://pianocheater.com


Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:46 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Posts: 291
Post Re: I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo?
Well, I would just rather you do this -- take one of the free IO pins going to the header, then with the white solderless board build another audio circuit, 2 caps, 1 res, and then connect it up and plug something into it, then you are just poking things into the breadboard. The two RCA connectors aren't nice and next to each other, but no one said you can't build two of them on the breadboard and have stereo like that, just copy my circuit for audio. Simple, 5 mins, done.


Andre'


Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:03 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:43 am
Posts: 3
Location: Seattle, WA
Post Re: I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo?
ok, yeah. That sounds good.
That's somethin I can do without wreckin' stuff ;)

'preciate your help and suggestions!

...Steve

_________________
Working on my own midi sequencer
Yeah, I'm crazy like that
http://pianocheater.com


Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:45 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:18 am
Posts: 1
Post Re: I'm fiiiiiinally tryin this baby out - can I get stereo?
Thats all I are able to say. You most absolutely have built this blog website into something speciel. You clearly know what you are working on, youve insured so many corners.thanks


Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:35 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.